top of page
  • 2 PA Traveling Girls

The Gettysburg Hotel - Gettysburg, PA

This beautiful building was built in 1797 by James Scott and was first known as Scott's Tavern. In 1809 it was obtained by William McClellan, a former York County sheriff who renamed the tavern, the Indian Queen. After 1846, it was renamed to the McClellan House for its owners, the McClellan brothers.


During the summer of 1863, the building witnessed one of the most historical events in the American Civil War: The Battle of Gettysburg. Confederate troops flooded the town of Gettysburg during a 3-day battle where around 50,000 Americans lost their lives.


During the 1890's the building took new ownership and was renamed the Gettysburg Hotel. By the time the 1900's came around, Gettysburg Hotel had electric lights, steam heat, hot and cold baths, and a fine dining restaurant. In 1964, President Eisenhower and his wife Mamie were Gettysburg Hotel's last guests before the owner closed its doors.


Through an initiative of Gettysburg College, Gettysburg Hotel was carefully restored with the assistance of the Historic Architectural Review Board. It reopened in 1991 and recaptured its historic past. A full renovation was completed in 2012. Today the hotel is a historic landmark in Gettysburg, PA.


Located at: 1 Lincoln Square, Gettysburg, PA 17325


9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page