Sachs Covered Bridge - Gettysburg, PA
The Sachs Covered Bridge is also known as Sauck’s Covered Bridge and Waterworks Covered Bridge. The truss design was developed by Ithiel Town of Connecticut and was built in 1852 by David Stoner. It is a 100 foot town truss covered bridge that goes over Marsh Creek.
The bridge was used by both Union and Confederate troops during the Civil War Battle of Gettysburg, July 1-3, 1863. The bridge was the execution site for at least three southern soldiers and is reported to be haunted.
In 1938 the bridge was designated Pennsylvania’s most historic bridge by the Department of Highways. In 1968 the bridge was closed to all vehicles due to weakening. In 1980 it was listed on the National Register of Historic Places. Today, the bridge is owned by the Gettysburg Preservation Association and is open to pedestrians only.
Located at: Waterworks Road, Gettysburg, PA 17325