Historic Ferris Wheel - Phoenixville, PA
Built with Phoenixville steel and installed in 1895, the Ferris wheel was one of four wheels created by the Phoenix Bridge Co., a subsidiary of Phoenix Steel Co. Three others were in Atlanta, Coney Island, and South Carolina
When its gears stopped turning in 1988, the Ferris wheel was moved to an amusement park in Mississippi.
In 2008, the Schuylkill River Heritage Center purchased the Ferris wheel for $50,000, and it was brought back to Phoenixville in pieces. Today, those pieces — the motor, the original carriages, and some of the connecting beams — are scattered throughout the borough.
We were able to locate some carriages that are stored in the borough and covered to protect from the weather.