top of page
  • Writer's picture2 PA Traveling Girls

Historic Buildings in Bethlehem, PA

1869 Luckenbach Mill was built on the foundation of the 1751 grist mill which was destroyed by fire in 1869. The mill ground grain into fine flour and functioned until the 1940s. The mill was restored in the 1980s.

Today the first and second floors are used by the Luckenbach Mill Learning Center as activity spaces. The third floor houses the Historic Bethlehem Library and Archives.

The Butchery was constructed in 1752. It was also called the slaughter house. By the 20th century it was converted into a laundry and cleaning business. In the 1960s the building was torn down.

The Miller’s House was built in 1782 to provide a home for the miller and his family. The home had a kitchen, one large room and a basement. In 1832 the house was enlarged and was a residence until the 1970s. The house was placed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1973.

The Springhouse was built in 1764. It was reconstructed in 1970 on the site of the original milkhouse and springhouse. It is made of white oak timber.

1761 Tannery tans hides into leather. Moravian tanners produced 3000 hides a year. In 1873 the building was converted into a multi-family residence.

The Dye House was constructed in 1771. Today it is an archaeological ruin with portions of the exterior walls and foundations remaining.

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page