Herr’s Mill/ Lefever’s Mill - Ronks, PA
Updated: Feb 16, 2022
Bishop Hans Herr arrived to Strasburg Borough, Pennsylvania with his family in 1710. The Herr family felt free to follow their Mennonite faith and continue the Herr family lineage in Lancaster County.
Hans Herr's grandson, John Herr, received a patent to 1100 acres of land along Pequea Creek for 110 pounds of sterling. By 1730, John had built a two story log cabin and began to construct a grist mill and sawmill along the stream which was completed in 1738.
The second mill was built by John’s grandson, Squire John Herr, around 1803. The mill was used for flour, grist, saw mill, to grind corn meal and as a distillery.
The mill operated until 1929. In 1957 Donald Denlinger purchased the mill and restored it.
The mill is located on the grounds of the Mill Bridge Village Camp Resort in Ronks, PA.