Frederick Lauer, Beer Manufacturer - Reading, PA
The brown stone pyramid is the grave of Frederick Lauer, a prominent leader in the beer industry. Mr. Lauer was the first president of the U.S. Brewers Association. His brewery was torn down in 1942.
Frederick Lauer was born on October 14, 1810 in Gleisweiler, Bavaria. He emigrated to America in 1822.
Frederick’s father, George Lauer, started manufacturing beer in Womelsdorf in 1823. In 1826 the family relocated to Reading and started a small brewery, George Lauer Brewing Co., on Chestnut Street near Third. In 1835 Frederick and his brother George took over the business from their father . After his brother George’s retirement, Frederick expanded the business and renamed it Frederick Lauer Brewery. Mr. Lauer would send his beer, porter and ale throughout the county and adjoining counties. Frederick died at the age of 73 on September 5, 1883 and his two sons, Frank & George, became the owners of the business, renaming it the Lauer Brewing Company. His son’s ran the business until Prohibition and closed the doors in 1920.
Frederick was married to Mary Reiff Guldin, daughter of Peter Guldin in 1838.
In May 1885, the Brewers Association erected a bronze statue in Frederick’s memory on Penn’s Common, near Perkiomen Avenue. This was the first statue erected in Reading, PA.
Located at: Charles Evans Cemetery, 1119 Centre Avenue, Reading, Pa 19601