top of page
  • 2 PA Traveling Girls

Fenwick Lighthouse - Fenwick Island, DE

Updated: Aug 18, 2022

The Fenwick Island Lighthouse was completed on December 29, 1858, but would not be lit until August 1, 1859. It was build to help mariners avoid the treacherous Fenwick Shoals which are located off the coast of Fenwick Island.


The Lighthouse is 87 feet tall, brick, with a central cast iron spiral staircase, and equipped with a third-order Fresnel lens and was automated in 1940.


It continued in operation for 120 years and was closed in 1979 and remained dark for several years. The community got together to save the lighthouse. This resulted in ownership of the lighthouse being transferred to the State of Delaware, and the lighthouse was relit in 1982 as an unofficial, private aid to navigation.


In 1997, the aging lighthouse underwent full restoration, after large amounts of fundraising were completed to assist in this process. It was rededicated in July 1998.


Today, the lighthouse is owned by the state of Delaware and maintained by the private, non-profit New Friends of the Fenwick Island Lighthouse. For more information, visit them online at: https://fenwickislandlighthouse.org/





2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page