top of page
  • 2 PA Traveling Girls

East Channel Lighthouse - Munising, Michigan

The East Channel Lighthouse was built in 1863, on private property, and sits southeast shore of Grand Island. and went into service in 1868. The lighthouse is built from wood. The light was very hard to see from Lake Superior and was removed from service in 1908.


The lighthouse was severely neglected over the years and, due to erosion, was in serious danger of being washed away. The Grand Island East Channel Lighthouse Rescue Committee was officially formed. Private funds were raised and restorations began. The theory for the lack of paint is that it is more picturesque and attractive to tourists and passing photographers.


85 volunteers worked steadily for thirty days in 2000. They completed 75% of a 300-foot-long seawall to protect the light. 600 ten-foot-long cedar posts were transported to Grand Island and then driven into the sand in front of the lighthouse. Volunteers also collected over 150 tons of rocks to fill wire cages that were placed behind the posts to complete the shore protection. In 2000, the light was restored and the wall completed.


In 2002, the lighthouse was gently lifted off its stone foundation, one side at a time, to replace the rotted timber sill and floor joists. Exterior walls were then reinforced to strengthen the building’s core. During the summer of 2003, the lantern room was disassembled so the deck and catwalk could be rebuilt.


Thanks to a community’s hard work and dedication, the East Channel Lighthouse is still standing today.


Lighthouse Head Keepers: Thomas Wilson (1868 – 1870), Napoleon Beedon (1870 – 1873), Frank Beland (1873 – 1880), Joseph Bridges (1880 – 1886), George McGregor (1886 – 1893), George Prior (1893 – 1908).


Located at: Grand Island, Munising, MI 49862


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page