Compass Inn Museum - Laughlintown, PA
Updated: Oct 6, 2021
Philip Freeman built the log portion of the inn in 1799. His inn catered to drovers, workers who drove animals to and from market. Behind the inn he built a horse barn with an adjacent pasture area for the drover’s livestock.
In 1807 the Inn was sold to Benjamin Johnston who was an innkeeper for 6 years. His original liquor license is on display at the inn.
In 1813 Frederick Meyers purchased the inn and ran it for about 1-1/2 years before selling to the Armor Family. Robert and Rachel Armor renamed the inn to Compass Inn in honor of the inn they previously ran in Compassville. They decided to expand the inn to cater to stagecoach passengers. In 1820 they added a stone wing, enlarging the common room and adding a formal ladies parlor and additional sleeping spaces. They also added a cookhouse and horse barn. The Armor Family called the property home for 7 generations.
Robert & Rachels son, John G. Armor made renovations to the property and converted the common room into a general store and the remaining area the family’s private residence. The general store served as a local post office and polling station.
In 1966, the Ligonier Valley Historical Society accepted Compass Inn as a gift from the Richard King Mellon Foundation.
Compass Inn is located at: 1386 US-30 East, Laughlintown, PA 15655
Additional place to visit in Laughlintown, PA
Pop's Pub and Grub - Located at: 1129 US-30, Laughlintown, PA 15655