top of page
  • 2 PA Traveling Girls

Anderson House - Bedford, PA

The Anderson House, a Colonial structure, was built in 1815 by Dr. John Anderson, a prominent local physician and founder of the Bedford Springs Hotel.

The Anderson House housed the first bank in Bedford known as the Allegheny Bank of Pennsylvania from 1815 to 1832. The bank was housed within Dr. Anderson's home. The original bank vault can still be seen inside the house.

The Dr. John Anderson House has been the headquarters for a variety of local organizations since the 1920s: the Civic Club Library and Community Center, the Bedford County Chamber of Commerce, and the Bedford County Arts Council.

Anderson’s heirs donated it to the borough in 1966.

In 1983, the Anderson House was listed as a contributing resource in the Bedford National Register Historic District.

In 2015, The Southern Alleghenies Museum of Art (SAMA) decided to expand their satellite museum program into Bedford Borough and selected the Anderson Home as the prime location for the new fine art center. For more information on SAMA, visit them online at:

The Anderson House is located at: 137 E Pitt St, Bedford, PA 15522

Additional places to visit in Bedford, PA:

Pitt Theatre - Located at: 134 East Pitt Street, Bedford, PA 15522

Espy House - Located at: 123 East Pitt Street, Bedford, PA 15522

Mural of George Washington - Located at: East Pitt Street in Bedford, PA 15522

Jean Bonnet Tavern - Located at: 6048 Lincoln Highway, Bedford, PA 15522

67 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page