1748 Fountain House - Doylestown, PA
William Doyle, founder of Doylestown, constructed his first tavern in 1745. The William Doyle’s Tavern was then constructed in 1752 on 19 acres he purchased that year.. It was one of 7 taverns in pre-revolutionary Doylestown. It was seized by government authorities during the American Revolutionary War and sold at auction.
The Fountain House was a tavern, post office, stagecoach stop and now houses a Starbucks. It was listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1972.
Located at: 10 North Main Street, Doylestown PA 18901